Mystic Rumi

 

 

 

Rumi – Late by Myself

Late, by myself, in the boat of myself,

no light and no land anywhere,

cloud cover thick. I try to stay

just above the surface,

yet I’m already under

and living with the ocean.

 

Khizer – Stopped in Place (emulation)

Stopped,by myself, in the world of myself

no people and no life in sight, anywhere

the clouds move as a slow covering

I attempt to stay right here in my own place

yet when I look down I am already sinking

into the void once again

General Biography: 

  • Honored as: Greatest poet
  • Born: September 30th, 1207
  • Died: December 17th, 1273
  • Nationality includes: Afghan, Iranian
  • Religious Faith: Sunni Muslim
  • Religious enthusiast and wise Sufi
  • Lecturer, teacher and was blessed with a mind that indulged greatly in the works of profound literature
  • Languages: Greek, Arabic, Persian and Turkish

Styles of Literary Work:

  • Wrote encrypted letters
  • Scribes and scrolls of writing
  • Literature to explain religion
  • Lyrical works
  • Poetry (Quatrains)
  • Volumes (Books) of writing
  • Odes and Eulogies
  • It was the ability to understand his own spirituality that enabled him into up taking the art of literature

Influences:

  • Religious Outlook
  • Father’s Death
  • Spiritual community
  • Being a Teacher and having teachers
  • Part of a line of scholars, teachers and writers
  •  Influenced the works of many poets from Persian, and Turkish to Arabic literature
  • Constant influence on today’s society
  • Didactic in its purest sense

Worldview:

  • Belief of life and death
  • Love and philosophies of life
  • Knowledge, wisdom and religious understanding
  • Equality was for all
  • Human beings had a definitive purpose in the universe
  • Effort of individuals enables righteousness to settle into the hearts
  • Aiding citizens of society through teaching

Inspirations: 

Rumi greatly inspired me in terms of the way I critically analyzed the world and the literature around me. It was the different perspective and worldview of another individual that enabled me into having freedom since writing became an application of my beliefs and values; I was beginning to articulate details that were unique to myself as a writer. Rumi’s work has given me both the confidence that I needed to further improve my own writing and through enhancing my own works I was able to create my own profound, writing identity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *